Hobsons Bay City Council
Home / History / Nelson Place and the Strand
Nelson Place and the Strand

The best known and most architecturally enriched streets in Williamstown are along the sea front: Nelson Place, and The Strand. Nelson Place, named after Lord Nelson, is commercial, with shops, hotels, and restaurants, as well as some magnificent public buildings; and The Strand, the continuation of Nelson Place on the other side of Ferguson Street, is a street of lovely houses.

It is worth walking the length of Nelson Place. You will pass the Prince of Wales Hotel (the ‘last drink’ pub for departing sailors), Gem Pier, the Customs House (1873), a number of ornate bank buildings, the former Williamstown Post Office (1860; it is the oldest post office building still standing in Victoria), Commonwealth Reserve with the Tide Gauge House and the anchor of the ‘Nelson’, and Holy Trinity Church (1874) with its lych gate, a feature uncommon in Australian churches.

For feedback and comments please contact the Tourism Officer at Hobsons Bay City Council on (03) 9932 1000 email visitorinformation@hobsonsbay.vic.gov.au